2014 Junior Championship Summary

Logan Otter,  St. Peters, KS
2014 MWGA Junior Champion



The 55th MWGA Junior Championship was hosted by WingHaven Country Club in O'Fallon, MO during June 10-11th.  Juniors of all ages through 18 year old high school seniors met to compete for the Junior Championship title and also a spot on the Missouri Junior Girls Four State Championship team.  The event was a 36 hole stroke play competition, with the 16-18 year olds playing the Championship tees of 5,267 yards and the 14-15 year olds and younger playing at 4955 yards.  A practice round was played on Monday with a mandatory rules meeting for the competitors and a reception for the 2014 MWGEA Scholarship Recipients.  Scholarship Director Kathy Glennon wore two hats this week as she was also serving as interim Rules Director.  Mrs. Glennon went over the basic rules of golf and also specific local rules that would impact play during the championship and fielded general rules questions from the players and parents.

Scholarship Reception: Mrs. Kathy Glennon read the attributes of each scholarship recipient and also a portion of their essays which demonstrated their passion for the game and it's lessons.  Each senior player was also acknowledged for their hard work with a rose in recognition of their last year in our Junior Championship.  The 2014 Scholarship Recipients are: Reagan Snavely, Wentzville, MO, Madison Frerking, Blue Springs, MO, Amanda Baker, Columbia, MO, Kelsey Thompson, Chesterfield, MO, Alison Bonner, Ft. Leonard Wood, MO, Michelle Stading, Ellisville, MO and Mason Olivia Fender, Lake Winnebago, MO.

Please visit the Scholarship Recipients section of our website to learn more about these deserving ladies and their chosen institutions.  The Missouri Women's Golf Education Association is very proud to present these scholarships to these outstanding student athletes and wish them the best in their bright and promising futures!          

Scholarship Recipients:  Madison Frerking, Reagan Snavely, Kelsey Thompson,
Michelle Stading and Amanda Baker
    (Alison Bonner and Mason Fender not pictured)

Here's to our Seniors! 
The MWGA is proud of these wonderful players and wish them the best in their futures!


Round One: Weather was once again a factor with suspension of round one play necessary due to thunderstorms delivering 3.5 inches of rain.  Several players had 13 holes remaining to play when it was possible to return to the course on Wednesday.  It was going to be a long day for our Junior players!

At the end of round one, Logan Otter of St. Peters, MO came in with a 2 under 70 to lead the Championship by four strokes over Emily Goldenstein of Chesterfield and defending Champion Jean Tyrrell of Leawood, KS.  Sarah Bell of Jackson and Jenna Kosmatka of Jefferson City finished the soggy round with 75s.  The 14-15 year old division was led by Anna Iorio of Joplin with only one shot over Elizabeth Hawkins of St. Charles.  Leigh Kelly of O'Fallon had a commanding lead of the 13 and under group's leader with a great round of 83.

Final Round: Staying in the same groups and continuing play directly after the first round was completed, the final round got underway.  Emily Goldenstein shot the lowest score of 72, but missed the title by one shot (146) as Logan Otter shot a 75, giving her a total of 145. Sarah Bell carded another 75, earning third place in the Championship Division.  Flight A was won by Taylor Hayes of Lake Ozark with a stellar final round of 73.  Madison Grisham of Eureka shot 78 to take first place in B Flight.  Other great scores were Katie Scheffer of O'Fallon who came in with a 76 to take first in C Flight.  Allie Dannegger of Ballwin won D flight with a final round 95.  The 14-15 age group was won by Anna Iorio of Joplin by two shots.  Leigh Kelly of O'Fallon continued her strong play in the 13 and under group, taking first play with a final round 83.

Go to the 2014 Junior Championship results page to see ALL the flight winners scores!

Anna Iorio, Joplin, MO
Winner, 14-15 year old division

Leigha Kelly, O'Fallon, MO
Winner, 13 and under division

Missouri Four State Team: The Missouri Four State Team was chosen from the top players from the Junior Championship.  The Missouri team will consist of Taylor Hayes (Lake Ozark), Emily Goldenstein (Chesterfield), Madison Frerking (Blue Springs),  Sun Jung (Springfield), and Shannon Gould (O'Fallon).  The alternates for the team are Reagan Snavely (Wentzville) and Brooke Thompson  (Jefferson City).  This Missouri team will meet Nebraska, Iowa and Kansas at the Junior Girls Four State Championship at the Preserve on Rathbun Lake in Moravia, IA on June 23-24th. Missouri is the defending champion.  Missouri has twelve titles since the inception of the event.  GO MISSOURI!

The Missouri Women's Golf Association would like to express it's sincere appreciation to the members and staff of WingHaven Country Club for hosting the MWGA Junior Championship.  We especially thank Head Golf Professional and General Manager Nathan Charnes and Assistant Professionals Andrew Jury and Jay for their support throughout the week.  The course remained miraculously playable through the efforts of Superintendent Brent Rockwell and his staff.  Food and Beverage Director Brian Manhardt and Kate Kloeber kept food available for us during the delays.... Many thanks go to Shirley Vandervort and the WingHaven  volunteers, spotters and scorers, for without them, this event would not have been possible!